Skip to content

Student Senate

orange senate (1 of 1)


Morgan Hartgrove
Senate Chair

The Student Government Association’s Student Senate is a governing body of 60 undergraduate students that represent the interests and well-being of all students at the University of Tennessee. Each academic college and residency classification is represented through Senators elected by their fellow students in the annual Student Government Association elections, which are held each Spring. Senate meetings are open for all students to attend.

Mission Statement

The mission statement of the 2015-2016 Undergraduate Student Senate aims to “foster the growth and change of the entire student body through relevant legislation by increasing our engagement and cultivating an inclusive campus culture.”

A new mission statement for the 2016-2017 Undergraduate Student Senate will be passed during the first session, after students return for the fall semester.



The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.